LITCHFIELD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT



272 East Sagebrush Street • Litchfield Park, Arizona 85340 • 623.535.6000 • Fax 623.935.1448 • www.lesd79.org

Connect, Educate, Empower our LESD Family and Community

Governing Board Norms

(Approved November 30, 2021)

As a member of the Litchfield Elementary School District Governing Board, I:

- Lead a district of equity and access that supports community-wide collaboration and creativity.
- Remember that my first and primary concern is the education and welfare of Litchfield Elementary School District students.
- Am respectful of fellow Board members and all in the LESD family.
- Understand that my role is to ensure LESD is well-managed.
- Recognize our fiduciary responsibility to assure financial resources are being distributed in the best interests of our community.
- Conduct myself appropriately and professionally at Board meetings by:
 - coming prepared to participate;
 - o listening carefully and being courteous, dignified, and fair to others;
 - o working collaboratively to make student-centered decisions;
 - conducting Board business transparently;
 - rendering decisions based on available facts and independent judgment and refusing to surrender that judgment to individuals or special interest groups;
 - respecting and supporting the majority decisions of the Board;
 - and adhering to standards of ethical conduct and maintaining confidentiality, particularly in closed sessions.
- Will ensure there are opportunities for the diverse range of views in the community to inform Board deliberations.
- Expand my knowledge of public education and governance skills through conferences, seminars, workshops, books and publications, and retreats.
- Will be an advocate and champion of the School District and public education.
- Serve as an ambassador of the District but not as an official spokesperson.
- Refer to the superintendent complaints, problems, and/or issues from parents, community members, or staff to seek positive solutions before airing matters publicly.
- Adhere to Board-developed communication protocols.

Governing Board Members:

Danielle Clymer	Kimberly Moran
Dr. Dennis Dowling	Melissa Zuidema
Jeremy Hoenack	